650 big bore

Jspooner

XS650 Member
Reaction score
So I'm fairly new to the XS650 world, I'm into two strokes, specifically RDs and TZs. My dad however is into XSs, He builds about one bike a year in various configurations and always with stock motors for the most part. For his next bike I told him I want to help him build a big motor. I'm looking at going with the 750 kit and cam from Mikes and will probably get the head ported. Any input on this would be appreciated. Also looking for carb suggestions. I have Lectrons on my last RD/TZ that I built, how are these on XSs? Or is there something better for the XS? I've been reading a lot about Dellorto carbs, any input on these would be helpful as well. Thanks in advance.

Personally I prefer big bore kits with sleeves and pistons. The big bore jug kits alters the look of the XS engine that I don't care for.
If you want to make serious power... the cranks are suspect and will need weld'n. I've done 3 sleeve kits with slide carbs.. stock cams and never had a crank failure (street use).

Personally I prefer big bore kits with sleeves and pistons. The big bore jug kits alters the look of the XS engine that I don't care for.
If you want to make serious power... the cranks are suspect and will need weld'n. I've done 3 sleeve kits with slide carbs.. stock cams and never had a crank failure (street use).

Thanks for the input. It will be on a total custom bike so the different look will just add to the creativity of the bike. My dad is going on 80 so I doubt its going to see much abuse but I will keep the welded crank in mind. I was actually considering a phased crank anyway, so that would be an opportunity to weld it.