Can you figure this one out?

STVR

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Bike: 1975 xs 650

So a couple of months ago I replaced a lot of things on my bike new coils as one went out, new points,valve adjustment on all valves,timing ,regaped points,set the tension on the cam. Now im no expert but I have a good feel for this sort of stuff.....so I thought.

I took my bike out on the first test run and everything seemed fine had to adjust the clutch cable a little. Took it out for about 45 min, when coming to stop lights it sounded like it was going to die but gave it a little gas then it sounded fine.

Whilst turning around on a road in first gear suddenly it sounded like a knock in the engine the rear wheel locks up and I got down. I was going about 10 mph so no harm done. I picked up my bike rear wheel turns fine,pushed it to the side of the road, then started it back up rode it in 1st gear then to 2nd and she died never to start again.

Now Im wondering what the problem could be she still wont start up and now im hearing a lot more slap in the valves than before. Could my valves been set incorrectly or maybe the timing was wrong? No seizure of the piston thats totally fine.

I suppose I will go check the cam tension,regap the valves,reset the points and the timing anyone have any ideas? I'm a bit stumped on this one.

Thanks

Steve

I would check the battery if thats good,
check the points if they are good,
check the timing both sides if they are good,
do a compression test if thats good,
check the carbies, ed
you need a warm engine to do a proper cam chain adjustment

If it's knocking when you crank it over, something's wrong. Locking up like that then breaking loose tells me either you had something hit something inside the motor, like maybe a valve hit a piston, a momentary seizure of piston to cylinder, a chunk of carbon got trapped between the head and the piston, or maybe even something floating around in the crankcase got stuck somewhere.