Carburettors slides not closing exactly together?

Its been a long time

Doesn't know nothing.
Reaction score
I have just reassembled the carburettors from a 77 XS650D after cleaning and fitting new wear parts throughout. I didn't fit new diaphragms to the slides. Look as hard as I could, I can find nothing wrong with either of them. Before stripping, I noticed if I lift the slides together with my fingers, one returned slightly slower than the other. And after reassembly, it still does. I can hear the carburettor diaphragms breathing as I lift and release the slides. I can hear a definite slight clunk as the slides fully return. But they're slightly different rate of closing. I have no experience with this type of CV carburettor. Is my experience actually typical or can I expect issues when I get the bike running? Thanks.

Not a big deal, slight difference in slide fall is normal. I'm pretty careful about checking slide and it's bore for corrosion/varish/dirt during the overhaul. checking for free motion. Sometimes overlooked; sealing of the choke (enricher) plungers affects slide performance. When the choke is open, a passage opens to the air chamber below the slide. Try and see, with choke applied the slides drop like a rock. The air part of the choke air/fuel emulsion is taken from below the diaphragm. It may serve two purposes provides air, and reduces acceleration when the choke is on, a good thing.

The enricher circuit, opened for clarity.
BS38 choke enricher circuit..jpg

blue is air, note how it's supplied from the chamber below the slide.
Red is fuel pulled up from a dip tube in the float chamber
Pink is the mix supplied to the carb bore after the throttle butterfly. Opening throttle will lean out the mix why opening the throttle just bit will help a motor "catch" when starting.

Last edited: