Emissions ?

jmcgowan

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Here in Maricopa County (Phoenix, Arizona) all road going motor vehicles have to pass emissions. I took my XS (1980 XS650) there today, and it failed for excessive hydrocarbons (unburnt fuel). Anyone else have problems like this ? It's got the stock airbox, stock exhaust (I think) and no jet kit (that I know of). I'm thinking I could mess with jetting, and since it's rich anyway install pods at the same time ? Or I can simply buy collector vehicle insurance and be exempt from emissions, or purchase a PO box outside of Maricopa County and not have to get emissions tested... Advice ? What would you do ?

Anybody local want to help me out ? I'm not experienced with jetting carbs.

mikesxs had a heiden jet kit for the bike. You would think it would not matter because of the age of the bike. That kit allows you to move the jets up and down. It should fix it and run better.

Yeah that's bullshit! I'd send some pissed off emails to your legislators. The bike is 29 years old and still stock! :cussing:

Maybe I'm making too big of a deal about this but you shouldn't have to buy collector vehicle insurance or anything like that. There should be an age cutoff. How much would that insurance be? Is it through an insurance company or the state like a tax?

Alright, I've calmed down.. Maybe just put some free-flowing pods on there for the emissions test and see if it'll pass. Or take the air filters out of the airbox just for the test. That might not help though depending how they do the test :shrug:

jm, you didn't say where the co was. If that reading is lean, you could have what is called a "lean miss", which will cause very high hc reading's.You got a friend who work's as a car mechanic? If so, doe's his shop have a gas anylizer? You could try turning the mix screw's while watching the reading's,& see if you can get it to pass.