epoxy primer, then primer again?

motorbreath

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So, ive been researching epoxy primer and i know its what im going to use on the bare metal, but should i use regular primer over the epoxy primer, then sand, then basecoats of color?

depends on the epoxy primer, you'd have to read the tech sheets for the primer and your topcoat as it really depends. some are used more as a sealer and aren't recommended to sand on.... i'm not speaking from experience, but from my own research - i plan on DIY my tank and side covers this summer with real paint, so i did some digging on the subject. what brand of epoxy primer are you looking to use?

You can paint right over epoxy primer IF you final coat within a week of applying the epoxy in most cases.

I could never get the epoxy to lay flat enough to put color right over it so i always used a surfacer in between. Maybe I'm a crappy painter though!!

Your base is going to look like what ever you put it over. Its way easier to epoxy then prime, block, base, clear. Or you can etch the bare metal, prime,base, clear.

Posted via Mobile

All materials have different specs. You can't say something that covers them all. The epoxy I use has a recoat window of 24 hours, not a week. It is also an epoxy that hardens well. Which means it sands well. I block my epoxy just as I would any other primer. But you can't do that with most epoxies. I use Kirker.