First XS 650 build.....hopefully it all works out!

Gio_rosa16

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody! My name is Gio and I'm Air Force Stationed at Offutt AFB in Bellevue, Nebraska. This is my first build. It's a 1978 XS 650 Special. I plan on bobbing it and making it a fun ride. I ordered parts a few days ago and I should be getting them in in a few days. I'll be posting more pictures this weekend so you can see the progression of tear down. Tell me what you guys think.

I attached a few pictures of its current condition. In 2 days it's going to start to look a lot different.

-Gio

Attachments

• bike 1.jpg
    bike 1.jpg
    37.6 KB · Views: 169
  • bike 2.jpg
    bike 2.jpg
    34.3 KB · Views: 170
  • bike 3.jpg
    bike 3.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 170
  • bike 4.jpg
    bike 4.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 169
Welcome to the single greatest source of XS-pertise on the planet!

Looks like you've got a good solid bike to start from, be interesting to see where you go with it.

My brother was stationed at Offutt in the 60's. I was 10 or 11 when Mom & Dad, little brother and I drove out from Michigan for his wedding. LONG time ago...

Well after getting a day at 54 degrees here in Nebraska in January, I was able to put in about 2.5 hours of work in. Considering this is my first bike build, there was a slight learning curve. I was able to basically work on the back half and get most of the electronics squared away. Today, I got my shipments from MikesXS and Lowbrow.

So far I got:

TC Bros Hardtail
Sully's Seat with kit
Lowbrow Alien Axed Tank
Lowbrow 6" rear fender
Biltwell 7/8" Frisco bars
TC bros Battery box and electronics oil tank
MikesXs front master cylinder

I should be getting my exhaust in from Mike's on thursday as well as new clutch lever and perch. Then I should be getting my carb rebuild kit with pod filters next week.