Fuel drip on petcock

RVA804

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
petcock.png
There is a small drip of fuel forming on the back left side of the petcock, right on the gasket. It's very minimal and doesn't appear to build up enough to drop as the carburetor is clean of any fluids. Sorry for the poor quality picture, I hope you can see where I am talking about. There isn't any fuel drip happening at time of the picture but when I rub my fingers around the gasket I can feel wet fuel. Is this something I should be concerned with? I picked this bike up from someone last week Tuesday and it is my first bike so I am still learning! Thanks.

When the diaphragm starts leaking on the vacuum petcocks it will fill the backside, run down the vacuum line to the intake tract of the head. There is a chance it could run on into the case diluting your oil. Yamaha designed a channel in the spacer plate to let you know this was happening but with time they become clogged with road grime and varnish. You might check to see if this is the case.

On any gasoline engine, car/truck/bike/marine engine/aircraft engine, you want zero fuel leakage. No tolerance for even small leaks.
The ones you have are worn out. Buy a new manual petcock(s).

On any gasoline engine, car/truck/bike/marine engine/aircraft engine, you want zero fuel leakage. No tolerance for even small leaks.
The ones you have are worn out. Buy a new manual petcock(s).
Do you have any recommendations on which to buy? Also, I remove the fuel line and there is no leakage when in "on" and "reserve" position. But, when I switch from on to reserve there is a small drip but only when switching to reserve.

I hate to recommend Mikesxs, because many of their parts are poor quality. However, I have been using the Mikesxs.com manual petcocks for about 9 years now, and they are still working very well.
They have gone up in price, expensive now. You only need one petcock, even if your tank has 2 openings.