Gas Tank Mount Rubber

donmillerx

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Just a quick heads up:
The rear rubber mount for the gas tank is there for a reason.
Mine was missing and the vibration from a short ride was enough to crack it.
"Common sense ain't so common."
Here are a couple pics after a quick weld:

Attachments

• P1010798.JPG
    P1010798.JPG
    84.6 KB · Views: 291
  • P1010799.JPG
    P1010799.JPG
    113.9 KB · Views: 303
Okay okay, I guess it wasn't worthy of a post.
I'm still learning though...
And I'll take any chance I can get, just to talk about my XS! ;)

Okay okay, I guess it wasn't worthy of a post.
I'm still learning though...
And I'll take any chance I can get, just to talk about my XS! ;)
Sorry, didnt mean to flame. I tend to do that to...random posting of pics of my bike in someone elses thread. I apologize.

Ok, I've held my tongue long enough. Angus, I would so kill that goat out of pure fear.:yikes: That thing is just evil.:devil:

Yea, ya can't teach common sense. Having said that, that is how it's learned, by trial & error. At least you were able to save the tank. Now, imagine those poor bastards that mount those peanut tanks up really tight!!!:yikes::wtf:

my sporty tank is mounted high, but Ive made rbber mounts in same design as those rubber mounts with the metal tube found all over the xs. But then again, I have'nt fired mine yet, so, who knows?

I have seen some of them mounted up with just a through bolt. Vibrated the tabs right off. I don't know about you, but a fuel tank laying on top of my balls doesn't excite me.Especially at 65 MPH!:yikes:

Don
I just had this happen to mine. I have the rubber mount on. I guess I tightened it up a bit too much. How did you weld it? Did you drain the tank or what? Weld it on the frame?
Thanks to any advice you can give.
Georelle