help identifying front forks

74xsBobber

XS650 Member
Reaction score
i just bought a 1974 (tx) xs650,the previous owner didn't know much about the bike so i need held iding my front forks cause the top tree doesn't seem the same as other xs bikes and they also seem longer not that i'm complaining but would like to know what i have so i can find a front spoked wheel that fits to match my rear spoked wheel and a better top tree. there is a sticker on the shocks that's says showa mf5-003,markings that say hf-1 2z2o on top tree and 02 on bottom tree,the current front wheel is a honda wheel so forks might be honda. also my back spoke wheel is 18" and as the markings "DID" and would like to know if its original to my bike or not, if not what bike did it come on so i can find matching front. sorry if i'm asking stupid question and not explaining myself right but i'm new to bikes,thank you in advance.

Last edited:
- try these-pics from 74xsBobber

forks001.jpg

forks002.jpg

forks003.jpg

GetAttachmentaspx.jpg

stuffforsale2016.jpg

stuffforsale2017.jpg

stuffforsale2023.jpg

Last edited:
inxs, I can't see those pics.. It looks like the code to the attachments in hotmail or something.

74xsBobber, have you read How to Post Pictures? If not, see if that helps to clear things up on the various ways to post pictures..

- bump...pics reloaded...alfredo, i thought about using your bump but i just couldnt do it...so for those ducati elephant lovers out there, this is for you

file.gif

Sorry I can't help you. I like the long forks with the nice brace though. As far as getting a spoked wheel it would be easiest to swap the whole front end compared to trying to match up a disk brake set up to a different wheel.