I figured my 1978 XS500 would have the same frame as a xs650!?!?!?

RecoveringA55hole

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I had a couple questions for you guys! First, just want to let you know this is my first build, I don't know to much about it but i learn fast.

This Is my bike..

I found a 1978 Yamaha EX500 sitting for sale for a few hundred bucks, runs great, so I bought it. I started seeing some really nice XS650 bobbers online, I figured my xs500 was going to be about the same, frame wise. Buts its different, and it wouldnt be a big deal if I was planning on putting a hardtail on it, but I'm not.

I was planning on doing a "brat" style, leaving the shocks on, and buying a "visual impact brat kit" like this..

That picture is on a XS650.. My frame is a little different, it doesnt have a pipe that goes all the way down the like 650 and it also has 3 other pipes up top.. here are some pictures of my frame (compare them to the 650)..

So what would you guys recommend that I do if I want this kind of style..

I didn't realized the frames would be a big difference. I could probably still make the cuts and extra weld ons. If anyone has any ideas I would greatly appreciate it.

Looking forward to hearing from you guys, Thanks,

Matt

People think Leo Durocher said "Nice guys finish last." But what he actually said was "Nice guys / finish last." He was talking about another team's chances for the season. He said they were nice guys but they would finish last in the division. But due to the way they ran the quote, since about the 1950s people have believed nice guys finish last :(

People think Leo Durocher said "Nice guys finish last." But what he actually said was "Nice guys / finish last." He was talking about another team's chances for the season. He said they were nice guys but they would finish last in the division. But due to the way they ran the quote, since about the 1950s people have believed nice guys finish last :(