im at a lost and can't find someone to help

Jkickstart

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey fellas I'm new to this I just recently had my cam chain replaced as well as new gaskets chain guides tensioner and piston rings I rode the bike 1 day after everything seemed fine except for it stalling every Time I came to a light I adjusted the carbs to a higher idle and it ran fine. My kick stand broke and it fell over the day I rode it I rode it for about 100 miles so long story short I left the petcock on over night the next morning there was gas all on the ground I kicked it over it started and stalled twice nothing since and was about a month ago it now just backfires loud and when I pull the throttle and kick it same time it tries to break my leg pleas anything will help

Can't help much but the kick back is a build up of compression in the engine. I ended up on crutches about 15 years ago trying to kick-start my '79 and it kicked back a number of times.

Sounds like carb issues ... when's the last time you had them off for a good cleaning? Dropping it could have broken some crud loose, which could explain both the running issues and gas leaks.

What year? Depending on the carb, could be a fairly easy weekend project.

It's an 81 with stock carbs I rock them apart and sprayed them down with carb cleaner it just made the backfire sound louder

Sounds like carb issues ... when's the last time you had them off for a good cleaning? Dropping it could have broken some crud loose, which could explain both the running issues and gas leaks.

What year? Depending on the carb, could be a fairly easy weekend project.