My first bike: 1983 XS650K Heritage Special

Bob_Beard

Total Newb
Reaction score
Hi, guys. I'm Bob. Month-long reader, first-time poster. I've been meaning to do an intro post for a while now, so here it is:

13709844133101_zps231bc72f.jpg

I picked up this beauty about a month ago. I started looking at these forums before I bought the bike to familiarize myself with some of the common issues and figure out some of the things I should be looking for before buying. I honestly didn't get very far with that, and after a friend looked it over for me, I decided to buy the bike. I'm no mechanic, and I have no motorcycle experience prior to this bike, so it has been a learning experience and will continue to be a learning experience for me. So far, this is all I've done from a maintenance/repair standpoint:

• Noticed my vacuum petcock spitting gas out of the vent hole. I took it apart and plugged the vent hole with a small piece of rubber band (a temporary fix). I will be replacing the original with a simple on/off valve from Mike's very soon.
  • Shortly after purchasing the bike, I realized my swingarm pivot bolt was broken at the threads. After riding around with the bolt jury rigged into place with a bent piece of steel replacing the washer behind one of my footpeg nuts, I finally replaced the bolt with one from Mike's. I also found that the previous owner had already installed the bronze swingarm bushings and a third grease gun fitting under the swingarm.
  • Most recently, decided that the cause of My sporadic oil leaks is "overfilling" the gas tank. This seems to create excessive pressure on the faulty petcock which leads to a chain reaction: flooded carbs; gas in oil; overfull gearbox.

Guess I'm not riding anymore until I replace the petcock and change the oil. The hard part is getting the rear drain plug loose.