New 650 lover...need diagnostics from some old pros!

belville1780

XS650 Member
Reaction score
So I am long time yamaha enthusiast...and I was actually given a 75 650 as a gift! I am a horrible mechanic and only know enough to confuse myself. The bike has been running great for the past week. Clutch started acting funny a couple days ago....nothing there until the very end of the handle. Didnt think anything of it, I just figured it was going to need some adjustment/TLC. Then today I went out and kicked it over and it fired right up like it always does and was good for about 2 miles. Then it started to hesitate from a dead stop, once I was in the power it was strong and sounded good. I went back home and shut her down. Came back out after 15 minutes or so and it fires right up but just doesnt sound quite right. Its idling really high (i didnt touch a thing) So I took off for another lap around the block and same thing...a little hesitation at low rpm but pretty good if I am on it. No smoke of any kind, no fluids leaking...but the clutch feels even worse now than it did before. When rolling to a stop and the clutch pulled in its idling really high. Then as I take off its kind of bogging/hesitating/missing a little until I get into it, then the power is all there.

I cleaned the carbs REALLY good about a week ago, plugs probably need replaced. Has brand new gas. Fires up first kick everytime. actually seems like it wants to idle a little better with just a bit of choke?

Any ideas, based on my jumbled up rambling list of symptoms?

This site is an unbeleivable wealth of information, really excited to be a part of it.

Any pointers or ideas would really be appreciated.