New here

rinkman07

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

Last year I was looking at an XS650 frame and engine contemplating whether or not to start a new project. I decided against picking them up and waited to see if the interest would still be there half a year later.

Well, almost a year later and I still have the itch so I am going to pick up my frame within the next couple of weeks. I have never built a bike from scratch before so this will be a fun project that will last me awhile.

I come from riding super-sport bikes but due to an injury I can't ride for more than a few miles without being completely uncomfortable. The XS650, from what I can see, will allow me to stay on two wheels without having to turn home right when the bike is getting warmed up.

My plan as of now is pretty bare bones. I call the bike, that I want to build, a bobber. I'm not sure if that is the right classification or not. Some key points about the build that I want to achieve:

Hard-tail frame
Inverted forks
Forward mounted foot controls
Disc brakes front and back

Right now I'm still searching around the forums seeing what I like and reading up.

f38hg3.jpg

Here's what I used to ride before I sold it.

:cheers: Mark

Last edited:
I realized I had to clean up my work area a little bit before I started this project.

- Put a new top on the workbench
- Bought some new tools
- Organized my tools

I still want to pick up another tool box and make a rolling work station like some of you have done for your own projects. I wish I had gotten a before shot but my corner of the basement is clean now.

1zco7ko.jpg

Welcome to the site. The hardtail might not be the right choice for a comfortable ride.