New member from PA

Fuller

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello all. New to the site and to bikes in general. First project ever happens to be a '78 xs650. The bike has been sitting for 20 years in a leaky storage unit. I don't know to much about bikes, but I hear this is the best place to learn the xs650, so I will start here Currently prepping the frame to be striped and re-powder coated. :):thumbsup:

Attachments

• IMG_20151030_104358.jpg
    IMG_20151030_104358.jpg
    296.9 KB · Views: 235
  • IMG_20151030_104726.jpg
    IMG_20151030_104726.jpg
    266.5 KB · Views: 227
  • IMG_20151030_104712.jpg
    IMG_20151030_104712.jpg
    298.7 KB · Views: 240
  • IMG_20151030_133649.jpg
    IMG_20151030_133649.jpg
    276 KB · Views: 225
Oh, and if there is anyone that has any tips for me, I would really appreciate it. Since Im almost positive I will have to tear the engine apart to see the condition inside, and I am by no means a mechanic.

Thanks!

30 year old motorcycle,,,, white living room carpet. It all seems good to me, carry on!
yeah that one, will have you pulling your hair a time or two. check the tech section for hints, the new to me thread is a good starting place.

Oh, and if there is anyone that has any tips for me, I would really appreciate it. Since Im almost positive I will have to tear the engine apart to see the condition inside, and I am by no means a mechanic.

Thanks!

Hi Fuller and welcome,
I'd suggest that before you do a major teardown you check if the engine turns over and then do a compression test.
If you get around 90psi or more, see if you can get the thing running.
A good engine should give ~150 psi but anything above ~90psi on a motor that ain't run for 20 years is a good indication that driving the bike 100 miles or so will bring the numbers up a fair bit.