Newbie help with controls.

colecrazy

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm new to all this and I want to buy all new controls for 7/8 bars. I'm running a single Mikuni 36 and a Harley front caliper. Any suggestions on what to get? I've looked at a few sites like Motion Pro, Dime City, LowBrow.. Oh and I dont need any switches. Bare bones bobber stuff.

What kind of controls do you want? Just a on/off switch? Bike just kick only?
Need more info.
You can just run a key ON/OFF and Light Switch Pictures HELP

I'm new to all this and I want to buy all new controls for 7/8 bars. I'm running a single Mikuni 36 and a Harley front caliper. Any suggestions on what to get? I've looked at a few sites like Motion Pro, Dime City, LowBrow.. Oh and I dont need any switches. Bare bones bobber stuff.

Hi Cole,
it's all about the "look" you want the bike to have and that's entirely up to you.
Me, I'd go old-fashioned Britbike style, perhaps even those 1930s style reversed levers but they are a bitch to run cables from AND you'd need a remotely operated front brake M/C.
But it's your build, not mine, eh?
The only thing I'd advise is to choose a front brake M/C with the right diameter piston for your Harley brake caliper.
Mike "Mercury" Morse's Vintage Brake site has a handy chart that matches M/C and Caliper diameters to get that optimum brake "feel".

You'll need a clutch lever/perch, a throttle and a brake lever w/Master Cylinder (Appropriate to the caliper you're using...not sure on what size is best)... sky's the limit with respect to style, function and cost... so really it's up to you.

What kind of controls do you want? Just a on/off switch? Bike just kick only?
Need more info.
You can just run a key ON/OFF and Light Switch Pictures HELP
I didn't build the bike but it has harley controls with the switches filled in. They are big and ugly. It has a key switch and the headlight is wired to the key. No blinkers

Hi Cole,