Newbie here!

atom4488

XS650 Addict
Top Contributor
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Newbie here with lots of interest and questions for the remarkable body of knowledge that I am finding on this site. Been mechanically inclined since my teens (that was a long, long time ago !) and have only recently gotten into bikes. Have been riding an XT350 for a couple of seasons and am trying to step up my game. Have three XS's; a '77, an '81 and and '83. The first and the last are titled, the '81 is not. The '77 is a "barn-find". Found it in my own barn as I have owned it for 25 years but haven't touched it as life go in the way. Starting to make it roadworthy and inspection-legal, as it will need to be both before it gets plated in the spring. Hoping to get some advice from the membership along the way.

Happy Holidays to the XS650.com crew from snowy Montreal!

Tom

Welcome. The '77 is a very good year and very desirable. Nice to see another being brought back. The '80's models are a bit different and more modern (different carbs, electronic ignition) but many of the parts will swap onto the '77. You could do away with the '77's points ignition system and swap on one of the electronic ones, but it would take some wiring changes. One of the big but simple changes you'll want to make is swapping on the type E cam chain adjuster from one of the '80s motors to replace the type D assembly that came stock on the '77. You could also gain some front fork adjustability by swapping on the adjustable spring preload caps from one of the '80s bikes.