Newbie saying hello

XS6501981

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. My name is Rob from CT and I just got my first XS650 special 1981. I am the second owner and as of right now it has 7,100 miles. It has been sitting for 9 years and I just brought it back to life last week.This is my first build and currently transitioning it into a cafe racer. I have posted a few pics of my work in the last 4 weeks. I look forward to learning and sharing experiences along the way.

:bike:

pics are in my profile at the moment . I am learning how to post things in forums as we speak

full

Hey guys. My name is Rob from CT and I just got my first XS650 special 1981. I am the second owner and as of right now it has 7,100 miles. It has been sitting for 9 years and I just brought it back to life last week.This is my first build and currently transitioning it into a cafe racer. I have posted a few pics of my work in the last 4 weeks. I look forward to learning and sharing experiences along the way.
:bike:
pics are in my profile at the moment . I am learning how to post things in forums as we speak

Hi Rob,
nice bike, low mileage units get rarer and rarer as time passes.
Gonna put the front fender back on, eh? Forks get all wobblyarsed without it.
That or a TKAT fork brace. I got both.

Thanks for suggestion. Yes it will go back on as a much shorter fender. Still a work in progress. Electrical upgrades and such. I'm dead in the water till the pipes come back from getting a ceramic heat treated coating.

Last edited:
Hi Rob,
nice bike, low mileage units get rarer and rarer as time passes.
Gonna put the front fender back on, eh? Forks get all wobblyarsed without it.
That or a TKAT fork brace. I got both.
Thanks for suggestion. Yes it will go back on as a much shorter fender. Still a work in progress. Electrical upgrades and such. I'm dead in the water till the pipes come back from getting a ceramic heat treated coating.