Probably a complete noobie question!

jonasblack

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I was riding today and as I was coming to a stop at a stop sign, i felt a pop of hot air on my right leg coming from the engine, and the bike turned off. I then pulled off to the side and let the bike sit a minute. She started back up no problem. I have heard and felt that pop on my leg before. What is it? Is it air blow off? I'm assuming I have to make some air adjustments?

Sounds like a backfire through the carbs. Check your timing, it may be off a little bit. I'm not sure what an "air adjustment" is but you go ahead and make one if it will make you happy, lol.

Sounds like a backfire through the carbs. Check your timing, it may be off a little bit. I'm not sure what an "air adjustment" is but you go ahead and make one if it will make you happy, lol.

lmfao! me either!

i have my haynes manual... does that have carb timing adjustment?

i recently dropped my bike like an idiot, do you think that may have knocked the timing out of sync?

Timing is ignition, not carb related. However, this will only apply if your bike is a 1979 or older, or if you have a Pamco. The timing on the 1980 and newer models was fixed and not adjustable.

It could also be carb related. If your carbs are out of sync or not adjusted properly, that could cause some popping and backfiring.

Timing is ignition, not carb related. However, this will only apply if your bike is a 1979 or older, or if you have a Pamco. The timing on the 1980 and newer models was fixed and not adjustable.

It could also be carb related. If your carbs are out of sync or not adjusted properly, that could cause some popping and backfiring.

im going to try tuning the carbs first to see if that makes a difference, i mean my idle is running barely at 1 or .9, so maybe a few turns of that screw will aide my trouble!