Rebuilding xs650 couple questions please tell!

Motochick

XS650 Member
Reaction score
hey everyone. I am new to the Yamaha xs650 world. A couple of months ago I bought a 1978 xs650s. I have rebuilt everything and I am down to bare frame for powder coating. I am stuck on two things. One, good drag pipes to replace stock exhaust...suggestions please. Also, tire suggestions? I want old school tread! Firestone? Thanks in advance!!!

hey everyone. I am new to the Yamaha xs650 world. A couple of months ago I bought a 1978 xs650s. I have rebuilt everything and I am down to bare frame for powder coating. I am stuck on two things. One, good drag pipes to replace stock exhaust...suggestions please. Also, tire suggestions? I want old school tread! Firestone? Thanks in advance!!!

Hi Motochick and welcome,
there's several guys that make them, just google "XS650 drag pipes" pick the pipes you like the look of and send them the money.
But get them with internal baffles &/or with slip-on mufflers, the XS650 needs some exhaust back pressure to run nice.
For old-school tread pattern, I'd also say Dunlop K70.

If you don't have powder coater I have a good one that I have been using for over 10 yrs here in NJ
Just had this tank done

Attachments

• bk1.jpg
    bk1.jpg
    76.6 KB · Views: 155
Hi Motochick and welcome,
there's several guys that make them, just google "XS650 drag pipes" pick the pipes you like the look of and send them the money.
But get them with internal baffles &/or with slip-on mufflers, the XS650 needs some exhaust back pressure to run nice.
For old-school tread pattern, I'd also say Dunlop K70.
I guess I'll get baffles lol. I wasn't going to but you made a good point.

If you don't have powder coater I have a good one that I have been using for over 10 yrs here in NJ
Just had this tank done