RLU help, etc.

fiveohindc

'77 XS650
Reaction score
This is my first post, so bear with me. I searched the forum already, but can't find an exact answer to my question.

Just picked up a 77 XS650 at Vintage Moto Days. Previously I had a KZ440, and this is my second bike. I'm a newbie, trying to learn the ways of the force... It's been a mixed bag so far.

Love the bike, but today as I was leaving DC, within 30 secs of starting up, I had a plume of black smoke coming from my crotch. Yes, I'm a lady, and this made me panic. Turned off the bike, the Reserve Lighting Unit was smoking badly.

Even stranger, when I turned the bike OFF, the lights stayed on. The left turn signal, the rear running lamp, and the neutral switch. I was baffled. To quit the smoking and get home I unplugged everything I could get my hands on and made it without incident. (I really adored how the Stop Lamp Indicator flashed the entire way. Like, thank you, I'm not frakking moron, Bike!)

Once at home, I reaffixed all the wires. Initially the turn signals would not blink. Then, suddenly as if from the heavens, they did. Okay, whatever. The neutral light also began to behave, turning itself off when the key was turned to off. Whew.

Now the issue is, I can't turn on the headlight at all. When I do, the RLU smokes a ton. The switch also appears to be arsed, because I can turn on the HI beam, but not the LO.

I have read the bypass posts. I'm more of a mechanical gal then an electrical whiz. I read "jumper the -blank-wire to the -blankwire-" and my mind flatlines. I have solderless connectors, can I use those to rig the right colored wires together?

Also, could this be an indicator of a larger problem? Why would the RLU suddenly start smoking away like Bob Marley? Also, at the risk of sounding completely idiotic (maybe I do need that flashing indicator) but where is the fuse box on this thing?

I'm looking to buy a manual, but was hoping to find one in pdf first...