started well, but running increasingly rough

griennehornette

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Welp, it's been great getting the bike back on the road. I forgot how much I loved these bikes.

The Hornette didn't run perfectly (after sitting for 11 years, this ain't a big surprise) from the get go; but has slowly been getting more ornery. When I first take off, I get a lot of sputters, backfires and stumbles; worse while accelerating. After it warms up, these things reduce, but don't totally disappear.

I tried switching out the K&N pods for UNIs, as I have a 77D, with the CV carbs. That didn't do much. Reading through other posts, I'm thinking I need to install bigger pilot jets. Started with 27.5 VM22/210 pilots and 127.5 mains. Thinking I should bump up to 30 pilots. If I remember correctly, I set the needles right in the middle; dunno if I should consider going one step richer?

Also gotta do the timing. Been putting that off, as I'm far from a skilled mechanic, and I work 2 jobs so don't have a ton of time. But I got a bit of vacation next week, so it's time. Found a good youtube vid that walks through it.

If all that doesn't solve the problem, would I be correct in thinking that I might have an electrical problem?

This whole PMA thing - which certainly sounds awesome - is out of my budget right now; both the money budget and the time budget. Knowing me, the time budget is the bigger problem, as my projects tend to take a looooong time.

But having resurrected the old bike, I'm finding little treasures that I bought years ago, when last it was on the road. I don't even remember buying it, but I have a Kimpex ignition coil in the garage. I googled it; looks like it might be made for snowmobiles. Why I bought this thing, I can't recall; but I'm wondering if anyone has ever heard of these units, and whether it would be worth trying to install. It's a single coil; the bike currently has 2 separate coils (the original, I presume).