Starting "72 650 after 5 yrs storage

corbshere

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Got the electric motor starter off and repaired (cleaned and dressed)/reinstalled (wasn't as bad as I thought it would be to remove) Basicly it was very dirty ,grimey and rusty inside,Changed oil/cleaned plugs,cleaned air filter. Motor turns over but I can't get the Bike to fire, seems to be gettng gas but.... I have no Idea if the carberation is right or if I'm even getting spark. I live in ottawa county michigan,anybody know a good mechanic that works on old bikes in this area of the State ? 1972 XS2 650 yamaha. I'm an electrician with mechanical skills,but I have no depth of knowlege on how to go any farther with my old XS ( motor starting wise ). I've got it cranking good...help! It hasn't been run in 5 or more years. I removed tank,had it cleaned and sealed,installed new fuel petcocks,and of course,.. new gas.

Clean the carbs if you haven't done so. If they had gas in them these past 5 years they're probably all gummed up.

Clean the carbs if you haven't done so. If they had gas in them these past 5 years they're probably all gummed up.

Ok To clean them I remove both carbs , then what am I looking for? or better yet once off,what is the next step? I'm anxious to try, but I am very weak in gas motor trouble shooting,I haven't done this before,and I'm exited to learn this! What in your opinion is the best cleaning procedure after I have the Carbs "in hand"?
Oh by the way Thanks for the help!

there are some good youtube videos on it as well. Just a matter of taking them apart and putting them back together exactly as you found them, or as they are suppossed to be. They were designed to be serviceable, right?

i just got a motor running (for how long, i don't know...), and it sat for longer than that, i think, though i put on clean carbs that i know were okay. And I never even owned a car, let alone a motorcycle last August. I'm just saying, it will not be beyond your ability.