Starting my build!

beatnik2138

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Heyy everyone! Newb here.. be patient, constructive criticism welcome but please be respectful as Im very new to this. I'm going to be starting my build but I'd like to be sure I have everything I need. I have an xs-d my dad gave me. He knew nothing of the motors condition and it came on a hagard hardtail frame someone threw together. He had the bike for years and never rode it. One day he decided to get rid of it, I told him I would put in the work to make it a sweet ride! I decided a rebuild would make me more familiar with the motor and how everything worked. Since I've never torn down a motor or have done anything more then an oil change to my cars I thought this would be a good way to start. So I started tearing it down. We have a local mechanic that was willing to hot tank the top end for no charge. Parts were hot tanked in the process my cylinder head had been misplaced so now the cover is almost useless.. being a beginner machinist I have access to inspection tools (bore gages, micrometers, etc). So inspecting my bores and other parts that may need inspecting wouldn't be a problem so suggestions on what i should check would be appreciated. I just purchased a matching cylinder head and cover from ebay. One of the members here advised me to check the rocker lobes condition. Just got the pair in the mail the other day and removed the cover from the head. I'm not exactly sure what to look for as far as rocker condition but I've taken some pictures. The cylinder head and cover are from an 80's motor. I'm curious if my new top end will need anything different then what I have for the rest of my xs-d in the garage. The xs-d has everything the motor came with but the cylinder head. So my plan was to put the eBay cylinder head and cover onto the jugs once I've got all that I need. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Suggestions on parts and upgrades would be great! Thanks guys, also I will be making a bu