SWAPPING JETS between DIFFERENT MODELS of BS38

ANLAF

XS650 Guru
Reaction score
I am about to swap jets and need some guidance.

I have had some great help from the guys, especially 5twins on the carburettors. I thought I would start this thread so others can see what is going on.

background - I want to swap the main and pilot jets from my 76/77 BS38s with the main and pilot jets of my 78/79 BS38s. The reason is I have pods and straight-through pipes so 5twins suggests if I want to use the 76/77 carbs (which I do) they will benefit from larger mains and pilots (and lowering the float needle one position) - 5twins says the larger 27.5 pilots and 135 mains will take me in the right direction to compensate for the custom set-up (pods and straight-through pipes), and lowering the needle position will make the mixture leaner to balance the bigger jets which deliver more fuel.

QUESTIONS
1. is there a guide to swapping jets - this is my first attempt, and I would like to do the reading first before I get in there; and,

2. re lowering the needle position, that is putting it to a lower number (from three to two) or is it moving it down the needle itself (apologies for the simplistic question, but I am not sure).

Carburettors are a mystery to some of us.

Anlaf

Last edited:
I'm not sure what you did with the needle (as per the comments in your other thread) but to lower or lean it, you want to move the e-clip up one slot from the #3 to the #2 position. This allows the needle to sit lower in the slide by 1mm. This means that at any given throttle (slide) opening, the needle will be 1mm lower in the needle jet and allow less fuel flow.

I don't know if you've swapped the jets yet but be sure to read the numbers on them. There's what came stock in the carb and then there's God only knows what a P.O. could have swapped in, lol. And being that most people don't have a clue about carbs and jetting, they usually tend to go big, way big, when they attempt something like this.