thanks for the add

jdvorchak

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to the XS650 having just acquired a 1977 xs650 a couple of weeks ago. It had been sitting since 1987 and even though it was dusty and dirty with some surface rust/pitting I fell in love with it. It is mostly complete the only things missing are the fuel tank cap, turn signals and shift lever. My nephew gave me a shift lever so now it is complete mechanically. I was surprised to see that the fuel had been drained when put into storage. The oil looks like new and I will change it after the next couple of test runs. The chain and sprockets also appear new with some very minor surface rust. The front master cylinder was rusted solid so I replace it but now I find I have a clogged brake line. I took the caliper apart and it was not stuck or even that dirty. More great news is the starting and charging system works perfectly. I set the ignition timing and it starts and idles easily after my carb clean out and bench test for leaks. The points plate was loose and the points appear to be brand new. Well for 1987 new.

I have to add that I am not new to restoring/refurbing old Japanese motorcycles. This one is number 40. But I know there are also gotchas with any make or model vintage motorcycle. Anything I should be looking at before first test ride?
thanks,
John

Hello John and welcome from Virginia. My XS650 is awaiting the tear down to begin its restoration. Unlike you, this will be my first ever...