xs650 judders when off throttle. newby needs advice

spitfire

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
hi,

i recently bought a 79 xs650 (sf) with boyer electronic ignition and i'm having a bit of a problem with it that i would rather fix myself, but cant work out what to do as i'm a bit of a novice.

the bike starts nicely now that i put the proper spark plugs in and accelerates very well. the problem is that when i am off the throttle the bike judders. it feels a bit like its running out of fuel. it sounds as if its the engine that is doing it. it doesnt run nice and smoothly at tick over either. sounds a bit lumpy if you know what i mean. but when i open the throttle its fine, its just this kind of judder that comes and goes every second or so when i am off the throttle.

any idea's ?

thanks

nik

Have you cleaned to carbs? That's where I would start. I'm no expert myself, that being said your in the right place cause there is guys who are. I'm thinking its someshing in you jets or idle circuit, or vacuum leaks

- before messing with your carbs do a few simple things ... cam chain tension, tappets and timing, a compression test can give some indication of cylinder and valve condition, air filters, look for spark and battery condition

- check also things like engine mounts...while youre at it quickly check swingarm bushes, wheel bearings and steeringhead bearing

- all of this wont take long and although some may not have a direct link to your problem, cummulatively every little bit helps

- no improvement, then have a look at the carbs

you could just check your brakes aren't binding at the same time as as you do the items in inxs's reply,