XS650 Timing Issues? *VIDEO*

Yamaha77

Banned
Reaction score
It was a beautiful day here in NYC. Took the bike to a few events. I dont ride this one much (77 XS650) but I took it out. Noticed LOTS of popping noises in the exhaust. A person offered to solve this for me, at cost, saying its the carbs and a sync issue. in the city and a buddy came out to help (see the link below). Can you hear the popping noises? He says its a timing issue only and not the carbs, Any ideas? Ive only had this bike a month and dont ride it much. It sounds like fireworks from the exhaust each time i drive it, and today when I was out, it would drop out of idle and shut off until we put the idle up to about 2k. Any ideas? Im a newbie, esp with Yamahas.

Video of popping sound: https://www.instagram.com/p/BKeO4gIBGkk/?taken-by=jjwilde_

Last edited:
Go thorugh one thing at a time, eliminating might be's til it runs right, check spark, test all ignition components, plugs wires coils condensers points clean gapped no slop on the pivots, set timing with a light at idle check that you have smooth even advance and timing is at the advance timing mark at 3000 rpm on both cylinders. check set valve clearance timing chain tension then check carb idle circuits and sync.

I don't understand how he can set the timing without at least a test light. Even better, a timing light.

* Adjust the valves and cam chain. Do this on a cold engine. As in, sat overnight.
* Check and set points gap.
* Check timing with a light.
Then, and only then, attempt any carb tuning, if needed.
Look into installing a Pamco.

I don't understand how he can set the timing without at least a test light. Even better, a timing light.

* Adjust the valves and cam chain. Do this on a cold engine. As in, sat overnight.
* Check and set points gap.
* Check timing with a light.
Then, and only then, attempt any carb tuning, if needed.
Look into installing a Pamco.