Just picked up 1977 yamaha xs650, I'm new to Yamaha and have lots of questions

second generation rider

second generation rider
Reaction score
I just picked up a 1977 xs 650 Yamaha...for free:) it sat for 10 months but seems to need only a clean up and rubber replacement. I'm new to Yamaha, this bike has 43 thousand. How many miles can I expect to get with normal city riding before I need an overhaul. Also does this model have any faults I need to watch out for?

I am also new to xs 650. There are few have reported many more miles than yours but, they do perfect maintenance. I would change all of the fluids, bleed and adjust the brakes, check out the tires, and try to start the engine. If you do all of these and it runs good enjoy but most likely you will have to clean the carburetors. Also check and clean the air filter. This is a great forum and you will receive all of the help that you need. TC

77 is probably the best year, but 46,000 is a lot of miles on these bikes. Wouldn't hurt to check compression on it before you get too invested. Oh and be careful with that kickstarter until you're sure the timing is right...nearly broke my foot.

Here are some links I use regularly:
http://dejaviews.org/xs

The things that usually break:
Starter gear
Steering head bearings
swingarm bushings
advance springs get weak
cam chain eats through the plastic guides
bottom oil screen tears
the list goes on and on...

- the key is regular oil changes-every 1500km or so...some here report over 200k km with normal maintenance and a cylinder overhaul or two...when looked after these motors are relatively bulletproof