Hot main fuse/blowing...rectifier problem?

pdxxs650

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello, newbie here, first bike. I bought an 83 xs650 a week ago, 23k miles. Driving on freeway and bike dies. Found the main fuse to be blown, replace, spare blows. Now the next fuse wants to blow/starts getting very hot very fast that it starts melting fuse panel. Would a faulty regulator/rectifier cause this? or a simple short? where to start?

Any help would be appreciated. Dan

The tail light gets is power from the main fuse. The tail light power wire often rubs on the housing and shorts to ground. Under the seat unplug the blue wire to the tail light. If this stops the fuse blowing, you found it.
Leo

I unplugged the tail light and fuse still gets hot. I also unplugged everything except the one that was powering the cluster that tells me the bike is in neutral. I removed the regulator there was some corrosion in the connector and I started following the haynes manual for testing the regulator (which is aftermarket-Tour Max, if it matters). The book told me to use the ohm scale on my multimeter and connect one probe to the black lead in the connector and the other probe to the base of the regulator (that's just any part of the metal regulator with the fins right?). Well the book said I should have 0 resistance but my meter doesn't do anything. Is the regulator bad? Should it be replaced? Should I do other tests before replacing it? The main fuse still gets hot without the regulator plugged in.
Thank you for your help.

Shorted windings in the alternator rotor will also cause what you're describing; clean the slip rings and take a reading.