once bike is warm rpms wont come down

Nck156

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
I've been riding my 75 xs650 for the last three months with no problems, but in the last week i pulled up to a stop sign and pulled the clutch in and the rpms stayed around four grand. Once i shifted into first and released the clutch until it grabbed then the rpms when down to normal. While shifting into second the rpms stayed high in between shifts. I've greased the throttle cables, and the carb boots are new. Need Help!

I've been riding my 75 xs650 for the last three months with no problems, but in the last week i pulled up to a stop sign and pulled the clutch in and the rpms stayed around four grand. Once i shifted into first and released the clutch until it grabbed then the rpms when down to normal. While shifting into second the rpms stayed high in between shifts. I've greased the throttle cables, and the carb boots are new. Need Help!

sounds like your ATM (spark advancer) is hanging up. It spins on the camshaft inside the cover on the right side (the other side has the points) bob-weights get slung out by centifugal force as the RPM's go up and they twist a rod that goes over to the points side and moves the points backing plate to advance the timing. Springs pull the weights back when the RPM's go down and that retards the timing. When the springs get weak they don't pull the weights all the way back and the partially advanced timing gives you that hovering idle that you are describing.

Many people cut a turn off of each spring to get the tension back. Or you can buy a set of new springs (cheap) at Mikes XS.