just wondering about this bike

oskarbt

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm very new to motorcycling, just passed my MSF course last month. i've been looking at motorcycles for the past 3 months and it seems the more i look, the more confused i get. but i stumbled upon this xs650 on craigslist and i since i dont have any friends who ride, i don't know where else to ask for help.

this is the ride:
http://newyork.craigslist.org/que/mcy/4254598521.html

if anyone could give their opinion on it, i would be hugely appreciative. does the price seem ok? also, what questions would be best to ask the seller when i meet him hopefully this weekend.

also, would this bike be a good choice for a beginner. i have almost no mechanical knowledge, but i would be very happy to start learning, but would a bike like this be too much of a learning curve?

thanks,

oskar

Oskar, Welcome! The bike appears to be a pretty good example of the species. It is however thirty some years old. It will need things. That's not necessarily bad, it depends on your expectations. If you are looking for a bike to be reliable from day one, transportation first and love affair second then this might not be the right choice. On the other hand XS's are great bikes and give back more than they take. If you're willing to learn as you go. Any number of ten year old Hondas will be reliable transportation but none will give you a relationship like the XS Yamaha.

Define your goals and the answer will appear. Good luck!

roy

that looks to be a very nice bike. but if as you say, you have no mechanical knowledge. i mite pass and go with a much newer bike.even the finest xs is going to take some wrenching to keep it going day to day.