Could my coil drain my battery, why?

Rook32432

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello, while I’m new to posting I am a veteran lurker.
I have previously owned a 79 but unfortunately had to sell. I now own a rather troublesome 81.
When I first bought the bike it was completely stock apart from the missing battery box.
The original ignition black box was shot so I fiddled with the gonzo swap, before that too failed.

I opted to swap to the more familiar points setup and run an aftermarket dual coil.
Shortly after getting it running I “simplified” the wiring down to accept a ganged fuse plate. From which I run power to lights and ignition etc. I tested the stock charging system before and after making my changes. I used the tcbros “chopper wiring” diagram as reference. The bike ran well for a few months but I would occasionally get a hiccup in the spark it seemed, so I revisited the points and timing and carbs and wiring and drink and will to live and so on and so forth.

Finally it seemed to run smoothly(as smooth as you would expect). Taken on many 100 miles trips and I trusted it enough that I’d ride almost every day any chance I got. Start up no issue 1-3 kicks(3 on rarer occasion). Advanced well enough for me and would reach speeds of 90+ (I dared not push my luck), you get the gist.

Well about two months ago I was out and about when it began to bog at higher rpm, from 1/2 to full throttle. So I checked my advance and adjusted the springs as they seemed to not be returning consistently , I cleaned the carbs and checked timing etc which all seemed to fix the issue for some time.

Then a few weeks ago the problem came again, this time a complete loss of ignition. I let it rest and I limped it home with erratic spark. Days later I thought of the easy stuff first and cleaned the carbs checked the floats and checked spark replaced the battery and coil. It kicked over as easy as before and ran well as before. Until today..