Acceleration problems

Khosatral Khel

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I just got my bike back from the mechanic. They replaced the needles and the ignition coil and set the float. I rode home fine, but I was only on surface streets. When I rode it this morning into work on the freeway I had issues accelerating at 60 MPH in 5th gear, once I got to 70 it suddenly had pick up, almost like I had hit "turbo"or something. If I dropped it down to 3 or 4th gear it would accelerate. Is something not set right, such as the float? Am I getting too much fuel? Am I just riding it wrong as I was used to the old needles/float settings or what??? Thanks!

You haven't given any of the pertinent info needed, like what carbs you're using, for anyone to give you much more than wild guesses. Looking at your other posts, you mention having a 1980 model, but are the carbs a 1980 set? Good question and you're not tellin', lol.

Sorry, I’m a newbie and although I attempt to do things on my own, I’m not a mechanic. It’s a 1980 XS Special and it has the stock carbs. This all began when the engine was sputtering at approximately 4500 RPMs, but it would do this at random times. Then I took it into the mechanic to have the engine gaskets replaced. When I got it back, the sputter was consistent at 4500 RPMs to the point that I couldn’t really get it over 60 MPH. So, I took it back to the mechanic and they were having a hard time figuring out why it was doing this and eventually replaced the needles, which seemed to solve the problem, but now I’m having this new problem.

Since you just got back from the mechanic you probably don't know what needles are it. If you do know give it up so 5twins can help you. I think your riding it wrong myself. :D