1980 Special II - Red Light Flickers

69mach351

Resident Newbie
Reaction score
I literally just purchased a 1980 Special II (it is being delivered in an hour) and this thing runs like a champ, but the red rectangle light on the cluster flickers, then comes on after it has been running for a few minutes, just like when you turn the key on but the bike isn't running. I am assuming this is an electrical deal. The previous owner said that he thought it was a loose connection, so he re-did the plugs to make sure all connections were secure and that didn't work.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. This is by far the oldest bike I have owned and I am a total newbie.

I literally just purchased a 1980 Special II (it is being delivered in an hour) and this thing runs like a champ, but the red rectangle light on the cluster flickers, then comes on after it has been running for a few minutes, just like when you turn the key on but the bike isn't running. I am assuming this is an electrical deal. The previous owner said that he thought it was a loose connection, so he re-did the plugs to make sure all connections were secure and that didn't work.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. This is by far the oldest bike I have owned and I am a total newbie.

Hi mach,
congratulations on your purchase.
According to Clymers XS650 manual (if you don't have one you best get one) the Special II red light is a brake and tail light failure indicator and sometimes that system gets confused.
What you need to worry about is if it's charging.
Q&D check for that is to point the headlight at a wall and rev up.
If the light gets brighter it's charging. If it don't, it ain't.

The red light means you have a lower than normal current flow to the tail light.
Could be caused by a few things:
The tail/brake bulb #1157 has been replaced with a lower wattage bulb.
The #1157 bulb has burnt out..................replace with a new bulb.