3 years in the making

Metal

XS650 Custom shop
Reaction score
He guys I've been lurking for a few years now so thought I'd share my full build story of my scratch built bike. 1970 xs1 chopper. I'm a custom fab guy by trade and I've built a lot of these xs650 bikes for others over the years but never for my self. I had never rebuilt an engine so this was my first and as you'll see I went kind of all out on it. Any way thanks for the advice over the years and enjoy my story. Dan.

image.jpg

So it all started with a basket case find on Craigslist about 3 years ago and the collecting of a bunch of parts.

After a few months I get the time to start of the frame. I'm working with a xs1 and I've always thought these make the best choppers because of the backbone angle. They always seem to flow in to the back wishbone the best. I'm doing this with out a frame jig so I use some plate to lay out all my measurements. String line and lasers from HF make this possible.image.jpg
I bend and fabricate my own hard tail from a couple old hard tail kits I hard sitting around. Man they did not fit at all as they where for triumph so lots of cutting and bending to get this right as always.

I begin hand forming my own fender so I know I'll get the close fit I want. I use a big stump and a blocking hammer I made. It takes me about 40hrs to get it to a perfect state. image.jpg

The stump I use was from an old tree cut down in our yard. I have dished it out to do the forming with a grinder from HF. My shoulder is really heavy by the time I get this done. I'm working with 18gageimage.jpg

Next up I narrow a tank. I'm just using a sportster tank from lowbrow. Nice a clean makes the job of welding it back together much nicer. image.jpg

I'm really happy how the tank turned out it was done with mig and it's not really the right welding process for this job but I've had to do harder things with less. image.jpg