'79 Special Rear Caliper

Unfocused

I Love Boobies
Reaction score
I'm having an issue bleeding out my rear caliper. I have a new master and line, and get fluid through the bleeder. I believe the piston to be stuck. I was planning on getting a rebuild kit to fix the issue. I was also looking for a new replacement, but all I can find are the fronts. Is the rear the same? Pads are, if the caliper is I'll just replace it and keep the rebuild as a spare.

I have done a quick search and came up with nothing on the topic of interchanging front to rear. Mikes shows a replacement front and if I can use that on the rear I'll go that route.

Anyone have the same issue? Thanks for your input.

HMMMM...I got a caliper but I can't tell if it is a front or rear either . It has an "R" stamped on the outside and has a "4" on the back .It would bolt on to the right side. I can't find anything in the factory service or the Clymer manual that shows a rear caliper ( I have a rear drum on my bike ) .

Let me know what the rear caliper looks like or the difference between front and rear .

MikesXS:

Brake Pad Set ( for 1 caliper ) - Fits: Front - XS650 D-K (1977-84) and Rear - XS650 (1978-84) - Kevlar Carbon compound. OEM Ref.: 1J3-20000-11/13, 3H5-W0045-00, 2MO-W0046-01

Brake Caliper Piston - Fits: Front or Rear Caliper on 1977-84 650's.

Brake Caliper Rebuild Kit - Fits:1977-84 XS650 Front or Rear Calipers. Contains caliper piston seal, dust boot, spring clip and bleed screw rubber cap. OEM Ref.# 1J3-W0047, 1J3-20000-20-00 Also fits: XS400 D/E/F 77-79 front and rear

Scrambled, the part of your caliper with the R on it is just the mount. The R means the caliper mounts to the right front fork. You can remove just the caliper from the mount, as a matter of fact that's how you change the pads.