Adjusting Carbs??

Shifty2932

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the xs 650 engines and the forum. I just bought a 1977 xs 650 custom bobber. The bike is having some problems running. Seems to have issue in first (not wanting to gain power), flat or power drops through mid range, and sputters at times when throttle is wide open. It also doesn't want to idle down once the bike is hot and been running for a while. Already did some reading on here about that issue. But I have a few question and I'm sure this should fix my problems. I live in southwestern South Dakota and want to know how to properly adjust my carbs. The holes where the adjustment screw are at are still covered. So I am assuming the carbs have never been adjusted and I need to drill the holes out to get at the screws. I have taken the carbs apart and cleaned everything and checks all the seals and o-rings. All good there and the carbs are in sync. Want I would like to know is how to properly adjust the carbs. Procedures and steps would be great. The elevation out here is around 3500-4400 feet. Any recommendations for correct size for jets and what position the jets should be in?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

All of your carb questions are answered in the Carb Guide which can be found in the Tech section of this forum.

The failure to idle down when hot is possibly due to the advance weights not returning due to springs that don't have enough tension. Check that first.

If it's a bobber with straight pipes or with headers only, then you likely do not have baffles. You will never have good low end power until you place a small baffle, or lollipop, or thumbscrew in the end of the pipes. Google those terms.

Another recently purchased fine "custom" that don't run for shit but probably has "the look" I'm shocked.
Make note of your symptoms. Download or print out the Carb guide.