Advice on a sloppy tank?

StampBear

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
so while i await various pieces and parts to get this build moving forward i wanted to ask about my fuel tank.

i need to clean it, seal it, and i want to paint it (more on this at a later time)

i was putting it on the frame to get a picture and noticed that the tank felt kind of sloppy. it fit perfectly front to back no issues but when i attempted to rock it (left side up right side down - back and forth) i get a bout 1/2- 1 inch of play not side to side not from to back but rocking... is this normal?

yeah i am still very new to this so please bear with the seemingly goofy questions.

i was putting it on the frame to get a picture and noticed that the tank felt kind of sloppy. it fit perfectly front to back no issues but when i attempted to rock it (left side up right side down - back and forth) i get a bout 1/2- 1 inch of play not side to side not from to back but rocking... is this normal?

The tank is rubber mounted, so there will always be some play. You may or may not have too much. What is the condition of the locating dampers? They are parts #4 & #8 in the diagram. The front two are still available new. Make sure they have slid properly into the cups on the frame and that those cups aren't damaged.

FUEL_TANK.png

Yeah true!

Check the rubber bushings at the front for wear and where the tank bolts down. These bikes are old and the rubbers are usually getting past their best.

that is the ISSUE!!!!!!!!!! no cups on the frame.

the previous owner was making small mods and being new i totally missed this detail .. man what am i going to do now?

can these be made? do they need to be welded? can they be bolted on?

you have no idea how much i appreciate that one small statement!!! "cups on the frame"

Yeah that's a pain. They are welded on pretty good so extras might be tough to find because they are normally just ground off. I'll look though.

Glad you've found the problem!