Anyone have need of CNC machining?

xander18

Hotrod Hobo
Reaction score
I've mentioned on here before that in addition to an MC fanatic and avid tinkerer I'm an engineering student. Right now I'm doing summer work for a precision manufacturing company coding CNC for them and I'm thinking about building my own CNC mill (converting a Sieg X3 seems like the best idea right now).

However, I would love to make it pay for itself over the next year or so and maybe even make some money at it! :eek: Since I'm already hopelessly entrenched in the motorcycle and XS650 community anyway I thought that I would start here. Does anyone have need of CAD (I can get around SolidWorks, Inventor, and NX pretty easily) or CNC machining services (I use MasterCAM at work but can't afford it at home, $15k for a single seat:wtf:)? My rates would be reasonable. I think I could do triple trees, rear control sets, various brackets and mounts, maybe 19" rear wheel conversions all pretty easily.

I would run a 'quality, speed, affordable; pick two' kind of an operation.

The seig is a great choice. Look into Bobcad for home use. I got a single seat "hobby use" full version for $600 including the DVD instruction videos.

I would be interested in a top triple clamp. But I wouldn't want to wait several months for you to get your machine up and running...

I would be interested in a top triple clamp. But I wouldn't want to wait several months for you to get your machine up and running...

I'm not looking for specific jobs and orders now, I was just seeing if it was a service people thought they would need before I invest a lot of money in my shiny new toy. Wanted to make sure that everyone wasn't just making their own triple tree clamps or there was a cheap alternative to most of this stuff.