CARB ID

stevec8831

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I am pretty sure these are bs38's but i just want to make sure. They came off my 71 project bike, but the guy i bought the bike from owned a motorcycle salvage yard and switched parts around on this bike from different years and makes, so I just want to make sure what I have. There are no kind of i.d. numbers that I can find. Also I'm new to yamaha building and was wondering if it is possible to run these carbs independent of one another? I'm thinking of using the intake manifold I have pictured but not sure if it is even doable. Thanks guys.

Attachments

• DSC07531.jpg
    DSC07531.jpg
    233.8 KB · Views: 60
  • DSC07532.jpg
    DSC07532.jpg
    198.7 KB · Views: 94
  • DSC07533.jpg
    DSC07533.jpg
    185.1 KB · Views: 74
  • DSC07534.jpg
    DSC07534.jpg
    206.4 KB · Views: 68
  • DSC07535.jpg
    DSC07535.jpg
    186.2 KB · Views: 60
  • !CD8,Kf!B2k~$(KGrHqJ,!k4Ez+yVHS6yBNQPRz0OsQ~~_3.JPG
    !CD8,Kf!B2k~$(KGrHqJ,!k4Ez+yVHS6yBNQPRz0OsQ~~_3.JPG
    94.3 KB · Views: 78
  • !CD8,ScwEWk~$(KGrHqF,!jME0DTYQSf+BNQPS,QQQg~~_3.JPG
    !CD8,ScwEWk~$(KGrHqF,!jME0DTYQSf+BNQPS,QQQg~~_3.JPG
    86.8 KB · Views: 92
Those are bs38s. But don't appear to be from a 71. I don't think in 71 they were linked like that. I belive that in 71 they had dual throttle cables.

As for that manifold. It would take some engineering to unlink and make turn them into dual throttle cable carbs.

Posted via Mobile

They are 78-79 38's. Best used with the OEM manifolds.
I won't say you can't rig up something with that intake but most likely you would be just ruining a good set of carbs.

Yeah if you want to go that way, either use after market carbs or early BS38s 70 to 75 are separate carbs. Bet you could find someone to swap if you posted an ad in the classies