Clear Coating?

InfamousXS

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Well I set a finish date for the bike as late April meaning I have just shy of two months. I will be starting a build thread this week some point to get some finishing ideas and some motivation.

I started painting a ton of pieces today and did it the best way I knew how. I sanded and cleaned all the parts with acetone first. Sprayed primer on everything in light coats for two or three coats and am letting everything dry in our stove room overnight. I have painted a handful of small parts already with VHT brake caliper paint already and that says to let dry for seven days so it can cure. My question - should I or have any of you clear coated after using the caliper paint? I know some of you have used caliper paint before. Also, I primed my wheels today but am not sure what to paint those with too. Caliper paint? Is there an advantage or disadvantage to using caliper paint? Everything looks great with the Rustoleum auto primer I have laid. Brake caliper paint came out well too. Small parts like the motor mounts, brakes, triple tree and such I was happy to just spray with caliper paint but not sure what to spray for the wheels, frame, tank, etc. Thanks for the help guys, let get this build rolling! :bike:

Personally, I would go with an automotive urethane 2k paint (base/clear). If you don't have an air compressor, paint gun and all the equipment, you can have the colors added to spray cans. Many paint stores can do this or you can purchase online.

I would also use a quality automotive primer such as epoxy.

I used rattle can paint on the frame and other small parts and regret it. Scratches too easily. Will probably strip it down at some point and put 2k paint on it for durability.