Cylinder firing with hand over carb?

JAG1

XS650 Member
Reaction score
80 xs650

Well it runs. Still about the same. The left side is not running as hot as the right (when sitting on the bike)

3d5819b0.jpg

ba7362a2.jpg

f876a158.jpg

08e60715.jpg

As per xs John he states

xsjohn
8-1 lover
Re: carb problems
No............the left just runs colder than the right....and the jet needles have to be handled differently...as I well know..........after all these years of preaching .........and a 142.5 will just wash the whole thing out fast with those log needles provided by the epa......lots of fuel on the high end (142.5) and about none where you are at most of the time.............

xsjohn

Don't know how much truth there is in this statement. Seems like any engine shouldn't run hotter on one side than the other period. But I am new to these engines. Far different than all my Honda CB builds.

It looks as though I have the BS34 Mikuni carbs.
When the engine revs to about 3K in runs smooth, when it goes back down to 1200 rpms it shakes like crazy. Thought it may be a sync issue. I got the vacuum gauges out and was going to do it but i don't see a screw to adjust it. I know the tubes on the intakes is where to place the vacuum gauge bit can someone direct me in how to sync them? I read about a spark plug cap being removed allowing the engine to only work off one cylinder and doing it that way but it seems bizarre. Wanted to double check before I dove in.

Thanks again for all the help.

Okay this is what is going on:

It starts on first kick
Seems to only run on one cylinder ( right side when sitting on bike )
Place hand over left carb jumps the rpms, hot air comes from exhaust.
Place hand over right carb - bike dies.

So it's the same as if someone has a bike that only runs with choke on and dies with choke off?

Me blocking air from left carb kicks the rpms up and makes that side get hot
Me blocking air from right kills the engine