Dilema-Can I cut up a new xs650?

reallybigtim

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello all......I would like to introduce myself and hear some opinions about my dilema. I have found the type of bike I want to build.....a brat-style XS650. I am not a great mechanic or a welder so I wanted to find a good, clean running bike for the build. It only took me about a week to find a good donor bike. The problem is.....it might be too good. I found an '83 black Heritage Special. The bike has 300 original miles and is in almost perfect condition. This was an estate find. The bike has had the carbs rebuilt, tank and petcock cleaned, and a tune-up and oil change. The only bad thing is they tried that seafoam stuff before they rebuilt the carbs and blued the pipes and mufflers. The bike runs perfect.....even the original tires are soft and not dry-rotted. And the lower side covers are still on it. I still can't believe that I found it.

I would like to hear opinions and advice from everybody about this dilema. Should I make the bobber I want or would it be taboo to modify a "new" XS650?

its yours, so you can do as you please. between this site and 650garage, you get a lot of xs folk. it may fetch a price that could suprise you, maybe you could offer it up. if no one is prepared to come up with the reddies, then they cant complain if you cut it up! rare find though, how bout some pix?

I will try to get pictures posted in the next few days. I am not sure if I would sell it....just keep it stock and find another one to build.

The bike actually had only 40 original miles a couple of months ago. After the fuel system was cleaned and carbs rebuilt (by Yamaha)......they rode it up to 300 miles to sell it because the mileage on the title was incorrectly filled out by the late owner's brother and they didn't think that they could legally sell it that way.

sounds pretty awesome! just my opinion, but i vote to keep it stock. or at least keep all mods bolt on. cheers

reallybigtim,