Do These Hoses Connect To Each Other?

Quasikaze

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I'm new to mechanical work and I'm restoring a 1980 Yamaha XS 650 SG as a hobby project to learn. I've gone through and cleaned the carbs, changed the oil, replaced the battery, and next is cleaning the fuel tank.

The issue I'm having is that I have two hoses that are disconnected. Here are a couple of pictures https://sli.mg/a/bcsUt5 . I've circled the respective hoses with red and yellow. If I remember correctly, they were disconnected when I got the bike. I just want to make sure I have it right in my mind before I just start connecting stuff. I'd rather not clean the fuel tank until I know what it connects to.

Also, why are there two hoses? Is there supposed to be something between them, connecting them together? Why not just one hose that goes straight from the tank to the carbs?

Edit: Side note - If there are any good tutorials on this site that I should definitely take a look at, then I'm completely open to advice.

SOLUTION: They do NOT connect together. The line from the carbs connects into the back of the petcock, and the line from the petcock connects to the small nipple below it on the manifold.

Last edited:
Red is fuel line from petcock to carbs. Replace it with new.
The yellow is the vacuum line from intake to petcock.
It pulls a vacuum on the diaphragm in the petcock to allow fuel to flow through.
You want to read the carb guide. From the toolbar click tech follow the menu to carbs.

You have a vacuum powered petcock. That's why there are two hoses attached to it. The smaller one feeds a vacuum signal in to operate the petcock (turn it on and off). The larger line feeds fuel out to the carbs. The vacuum supply nipple is shown in your first pic, to the right of the yellow circled vacuum hose end. Plug the hose onto that nipple. The other intake manifold should have a nipple as well. Make sure you cap that one or you will have a massive air leak.