Electric Starter does not work

bret

'81 Special
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a little bit afraid to post this because I am a total newbie on this kind of thing and I don't understand a lot of the terminology people use on this site. I guess I need to learn though.

Anyway, my start button doesn't work on my 81 special. It doesn't make a sound or do anything. I got a new wiring system last summer and I know something was wrong with it, like a few wires didn't connect. Besides that, what else might be wrong that is preventing the start button from working? Also, my signals and speedometer/odometer lights don't work and neither does the horn.

both the horn and the starter work by grounding (completing the circuit) thru the handlebar, are your bars painted? the best thing to do is get a VOM (Volt, Ohm, meter) 10 bucks or so at radio shack or sears and we'll walk you thru the wiring

Attachments

• 81_ XS650H_SH.PNG
    81_ XS650H_SH.PNG
    119.3 KB · Views: 93
The starter didn't work on mine when I got it. Like yours, it seemed totally dead. Turned out to be nothing more than a rusty connection down on the starter motor itself. I cleaned that all up and it's worked fine ever since.

The down and dirty test is to grab a big ass screw driver and short across the two big terminals on the solenoid found under the RH side cover. Expect some big sparks when you do this. You can't be mamby pamby, you have to stick it on the terminals. If that cranks the starter it's just a control wiring/switch/solenoid issue. If it doesn't then the starter is suspect.
Down load the 81 supplement of the factory manual it details the starter circuit and tests. There is a section on the starter wiring and testing.
On the solenoid, in addition to the two big terminals, there is a red white wire which needs to have +12 volts and a blue white wire which will crank the starter when grounded.

This link is a PDF the starter circuit is page 11.