Gaskets and Glue?

Brew

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
After researching for more than an hour I have given up. Do I use sealer on my versah gaskets for the top end or not? Which sealer? and where do I apply it? This is my first rebuild and I have no experience with any of the sealers. There seems to be a bunch of different opinions on this topic so everybody with non leaking bikes speak up please.

From what I have gathered its a hot topic. Im not going to chime in on it really, other than this last time I re-did a lot of the oil gaskets on both bikes, I did not use any sealant or glue. All was applied dry, or used some silicon just to keep the gasket on the removable part, just a small dab. Both of these bikes are still apart, so I can not claim to have any input on how the dry run went. All were torqued to spec, and left.

As far as the headgasket, or main jugs, Id wait for GGGary, 5twins, XSLeo, or a few of the other veterans of the board to chime in. What ever you decided to do, let us know how it turns out.

After researching for more than an hour I have given up. Do I use sealer on my versah gaskets for the top end or not? Which sealer? and where do I apply it? This is my first rebuild and I have no experience with any of the sealers. There seems to be a bunch of different opinions on this topic so everybody with non leaking bikes speak up please.

For the engine case to the cylinders, just install the gasket, no sealant.

For the cylinder head gasket, use a thin bead of Three Bond 1104 around the camchain tunnel and around each of the 4 outer stud holes. Apply to both sides of the gasket.

For the valve cover, no gasket is used, just use Three Bond 1104.

Cleanliness is super important. Use something like lacquer thinner to clean the surfaces just before assembly.