Hagon Shocks

lidirtrider

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hagon Shocks, Update 03/18 w/Pics

Does anyone have any experience with Hagon shocks? I'm getting ready to order some new shocks for my 75 and Hagons seem to be the best value for what I want. It will eventually be a full bore Cafe racer so I want to get some longer shocks. Any recomendations? I was thinking about 14 inches.

Posted via Mobile

Last edited:
Hi!
The first thing I did after buying my XS, was ordering a pair of Hagons, to replace the useless OEM shocks. The ones I got were stock length, 80 mm stroke and turned out to be a huge disappointment, and almost as useless...
I used them half a summer, before ordering a pair of Ohlins, with 340 mm length and 100 mm stroke. I recommend going for function before style, and get the best modern shocks you can afford, Ohlins, Wilbers, WP or similar brands.

I have Hagons on my bike and they're just fine. I'm no expert however and don't race the bike, but I've had it around the track at Barber's and at 100+ on the back roads of Alabama and it behaved predictably. Had a friend who is an expert (works on suspensions for a living) ride the bike and he liked it.

Running progressive springs up front with cartridge emulators as well. I'm getting a new set of shocks made for the bike however through a friend, but if that wasn't available to me I'd keep riding on the Hagons.

I have a set of sportster shocks on mine and really love them, I thought they would be to stiff but I couldn't be happier, I'm a mechanic at the hd dealer here in town and we had a set laying around so I figured I would try them out before ordering some ohlins, granted they are no ohlins but a fraction of the price and surprisingly comfortable, I believe mine are around 14 inches, the center stand is just barely long enough to stand the bike up and the side stand is just barely to short now for my comfort, it works but makes me a little nervous cuz the bike leans over so far now