Helicoil - Oil delivery tube - case threads

BigJimmyW13

XS650 Guru
Reaction score
Alright I'm new to the world of helicoils. I am looking at finding the proper helicoil that I would need to redo the threads on the case where the oil delivery tube meets the case. I now that the threads on the oil tube base fitting are M14 x 1.5, but I can't really find the info I need to get the right helicoil insert and tap to do the job. Can anyone help a brother out?

P.S. Alternative would be if anyone knew where an m15 or M16 fitting with M20 threads on the other end were...

Last edited:
u would still need to make a restrictor so that the oil pressure would happen though. Speaking of heli's, I need to heli a bolt on my sump cover.

depens on the size of the hole in the comp fitting. try to get as close to that size that u can. also, ....how bout driling a hole that size in sheet metal or sum sum, then sandwich it in one end with m20 there then m15 on the other?

someone here bought a bike recentlywith a cobbled together air line fitting, teflon tape, brazed to the oil delivery pipe.

Hey JImmy. Go to belmetric.com. He's got Timesert inserts. The work very well. Or you could get a Heli-coil from Mcmaster-Carr. I prefer the Timesert, as there inserts are much more solid.

I will do. The m14 x 1.25 helicoils are pretty solid, but problem is I need m14 x 1.5 for now though I'm just going to see how the excessive teflon and gasket maker holds up lol. In the mean time I'm going to give a few places a call for an insert. So that way I can get it in there ASAP.

- 14 x 1.5 VA ÖL021 .. €18
oel012_04_jpg.jpg

- 16 x 1.5 VA ÖL024 ..
oel024_01_jpg.jpg

- twinsinn €18 ..shop .. ölfilter,öl.....

The lucky guy with the air fitting from the PO is me! Still haven`t taken a crack at this yet so I am very interested to know how this works out.

What are the pictures of (if I am ask a nooby question)?