Hello! Just purchasing a '75 xs650

pancakesamurai

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to bikes, I've only been riding for a few months, but I found a 1975 xs650 for $900 with minor pitting on the chrome, a bad exhaust valve and needing a front brake rebuild, at least that's what the guy claims. I've never worked on a bike but i've done most of the routine/non-electrical work (changing parts, belts, brakes ect...) on a car. Is it worth the effort and money for the bike? I'd like to make motorcycles my new hobby. Thanks!

Figure 12 hundred for a minimalist maintenance, running xs650. Keep in mind these are all antiques now and require understanding, love and kindness.
This could be a life changing venture for you.
That asking price is acceptable to me if those are the only issues, and I say that with a pole barn that has two runners and a plethora of parts and pieces.
Study up on the thread about 'I just bought a xs650' and try to prepare yourself for if and when you go to seriously check out that bike.....volt meter and a compression gauge are a must for the veteran enthusiasts on any purchase.

I'm a bit partial but the 75 had the best color scheme of all the years.
All the things you list except the possible valve issue are minor things.
The brakes you just need to tear them down, clean, inspect. Most of the parts can be reused.
First thing is to get a repair manual. I like the factory books. The Clymer and Haynes books are good but have some mistakes.
biker.net has them as downloads.
Leo